

The Royal Institute of

International Affairs

10 St James's Square

London SW1Y 4LE +44 (0) 20 7957 5700

chathamhouse.org

Honourable Justice Healy Potani Judge President High Court of Malawi Lilongwe MALAWI

14 July 2020

Dear Honourable Justice Potani,

The Council of Chatham House joins me in congratulating the judges of the Constitutional Court of Malawi on being included on the shortlist of three nominees for the 2020 Chatham House Prize.

The bravery shown by you and your fellow Honourable Justices Ivy Kamanga, Redson Kapindu, Dingiswayo Madise and Michael Tembo in protecting the constitutional process has made a strong impression on our research programmes and our three presidents.

Since its establishment in 1920, Chatham House has been a world-leading centre for research and analysis of international affairs. In 2005, Chatham House inaugurated a new international award, the Chatham House Prize, to be presented each year to the institution or statesperson who is judged by our members to have made the most significant contribution to the improvement of international relations in the previous year.

The selection process is rigorous and takes place in three stages. Initially, we draw on the input of our senior research teams. Their recommendations are presented to our co-presidents (Sir John Major, Lord Alistair Darling and Baroness Manningham-Buller) who produce the shortlist of nominees, which is then voted on by the full Chatham House membership. The first Chatham House prize was won by HE Victor Yuschenko, President of the Ukraine. Since then winners have included HE Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva, President of Brazil; HE Joaquim Chissano, President of Mozambique; and HE John Kufuor, President of Ghana.

Once again, our congratulations on this nomination which recognizes the very significant contribution that we believe you have made to improve the state of international relations this past year.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Yours sincerely,

Dr Robin Niblett CMG Director, Chatham House

centenary 2020

Celebrating 100 years of independent thinking

Patron: Her Majesty The Queen Chair: Lord Jim O'Neill Director: Dr Robin Niblett CMG Charity Registration Number: 0208223